Leave a comment

“Eggs” Florentine

Before I started my vegan diet, my favorite breakfast was Eggs Benedict. My mom turned me on to this delicious dish when I was a kid. On certain occasions we would go out to breakfast, and if the restaurant had Eggs Benedict on the menu I ordered it, without hesitation. I would always order it with extra Hollandaise sauce so that I could pour it over my hash browns too. Hollandaise sauce is usually made with loads of butter and egg yolks. Neither of which is good for the heart or the waist line!

Even though I don’t want the unhealthy stuff anymore, I do want the rich, creamy, and tangy sauce. And, I want that sauce over my “eggs”, “bacon”, and English muffin. I also want a little to put on my hash browns (which I have learned to make in the oven so that there is less fat. But, that’s another blog). Now, I also add spinach to make it a little healthier and adds to the flavor.

This breakfast takes a bit of time to make, but it’s still very easy. I recommend it for the weekend or a late morning breakfast. Or, if you’re really adventurous you could have it for dinner!

“Eggs” Florentine

1 block of extra firm tofu
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
salt and pepper, to taste
1 package of Smart Bacon
About 1 1/2 cups of fresh spinach
6 English muffins, cut in half
6 servings of Hollandaise sauce

Preheat oven to 450. Drain and squeeze as much water from the tofu as possible. Cut tofu into 6 equal slices. In a small bowl, mix vinegar, oil, turmeric, garlic powder,onion powder, salt and pepper. Dip each piece of tofu in the mixture, gently pressing the mixture into the tofu. Allow the excess mixture to drip off the tofu before putting into a baking pan. Cover the pan with foil and bake for 10 minutes. Flip tofu, cover again, and bake for another 10 minutes.While the tofu is baking, brown the bacon in a pan, toast the English muffins, and prepare the Hollandaise sauce. To put together, put two halves of an English muffin on a plate (spread vegan margarine on top, if you desire). Layer bacon, spinach, and egg. Then pour Hollandaise sauce on the top.

Makes 6 servings

Leave a Reply

