Leave a comment

Black Bean Burgers

I have always liked bean and veggie burgers. The flavors are always so rich and the burger is moist. I’ll be honest, I’ve made a few different ones, but I usually end up deciding that the ones I got in the store were better. They were certainly easier to make. Just take them out of the packaging and heat. No matter how good they are I still get into a mood where the store-bought ones don’t satisfy my craving, I want something homemade. That was certainly the case with these. I also had a craving for black beans and a veggie burger. So, what’s the best to satisfy that craving? Make a black bean veggie burger! The result was a seriously good, rich and moist, burger.

There are two things a good veggie burger has to be: flavorful and moist. There is nothing worse than a dry and tasteless burger. The black beans offer the burger a rich taste and a smooth texture. The veggies allow the beans to stay moist, while also adding to the flavor. So, it is the best of both worlds! Not to mention that it is super easy to whip together! I think it took me all of 30 minutes. While the burgers were cooking, I cut up my toppings and toasted the buns. If you wanted to serve this to a large crowd or have leftovers, you can easily double this recipe. I also served this with my Baked Beans recipe and Corn-on-the-cob. Yum!!

Black Bean Burgers

1 (15oz) can of black beans
1 tsp tamari
1 1/2 tsp liquid smoke
1/4 cup carrot, grated
1/4 cup onion, grated
1/8 cup red bell pepper, grated
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3/4 cup Panko bread crumbs
1 tsp coriander
2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp pepper
Cooking Spray

Drain and rinse black beans. In a high-speed blender, add beans, tamari, and liquid smoke. Blend until smooth with some small bits. Transfer bean mixture to a medium bowl and blend in the rest of ingredients. Form into 4 patties. Spray a frying pan with cooking spray. Brown patties on both sides on medium heat, for about 5 minutes per side. Top with your veggies and condiments!

Makes 4 servings

Leave a Reply

